Pro Rege Society graphic.

Pro Rege Society

Membership in the Pro Rege Society is the highest non-academic recognition Hastings College bestows. Criteria for selection may include, but is not limited to, extraordinary service to Hastings College, significant philanthropic contributions and/or unusual commitment to the College over an extended period of time.

Those selected are individuals who have “led by example, led principled lives and/or accomplished creative and innovative achievements favorable to Hastings College.”

Honorees are presented a Pro Rege medallion, which was designed by renowned sculptor George Lundeen ’71. Inscribed with the College’s official motto, “Pro Rege” and “Humanities, Arts, Sciences,” the medallion is similar in design to that which is worn by the College president at official functions. The President’s Medallion was designed in 1986 by Lundeen.

The Pro Rege Society was established in 1997. “Pro Rege” is a Latin phrase meaning “For the King.”

2023 Inductees and Event Information

Hastings College will induct three outstanding individuals and one local business into the Pro Rege Society on Thursday, April 20.

  • John Bohmfalk
  • Sharon Behl Brooks ’74
  • Robert Unger
  • Industrial-Irrigation Services

The ceremony will be held at Lochland Country Club in Hastings and will feature a musical tribute by the Department of Music and Theatre. The Reception begins at 6:00 p.m. with dinner and the ceremony beginning at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are $125 each, or a table of eight is $950.

You can also honor inductees with a gift to an area that is special to them.

Bohmfalk’s focus is the Student Development Fund, as he believes all students should have access to opportunities to grow. The fund provides up to $500 for students conducting academic research and/or traveling to regional or national student meetings and conferences.

Behl Brooks’ area is the Irish Fellows program. Having benefited from study overseas, she loves this month-long study abroad program that allows Hastings College juniors and seniors to complete coursework and conduct independent research in County Clare, Ireland.

Unger’s focus is the Summer Research Grants fund. He is passionate about making Hastings College a great place to work for faculty, and this program is an investment in faculty who want to pursue research in their area of expertise.

Industrial-Irrigation Services, in honor of the company’s long-time president and Hastings College Athletic Hall of Fame member, is focusing on the Jack Osborne Track Resurfacing project.

More information on the inductees can be found in the news release.

Members of the Pro Rege Society

Anne (Fairbanks) Bohlke*
Bruce Gulliver ’70
Five Points Bank

Gretchen Vondrak
The Noel Cover Foundation
MarySue (Hormel) Harris ’63

Jack K. Kramer ’70
Dwayne S. Strasheim
The Sunderland Foundation

Tim Daugherty*
Lyle Fleharty
William Nottage-Tacey

George Lundeen ’71
Fredrick Mattes

Roger Doerr
Dennis Krienert
Gretchen H. Lainson ’37*

Cindy and Bobby* Gottsch
Dr. Ladd Cochrane ’58
Pepsi Cola Bottling of Hastings

Thomas C. Jorgenson*
Dr. William Locke
Jo Ann Klemmer*

Dr. Phillip Dudley Jr.

Kenneth Rhodus
Peter Kiewit Sons’, Inc.

Charles Gardner
Fred Hawkins, Jr.

Clayton Anderson

Armstrong McDonald Foundation
Charles Hermes
John “Jack” Osborne*

Charles Evans*
Calvin Johnson
Dennis Storer

William Barrett*
Robert Foote*
Sarah Leer*
Darrel Lloyd*
James Walter, Sr.*

Leonard (Lynn) Farrell
Duane (Bear) Johnson
Robert Julian
Glenda Pauley*

Lloyd Jones*
Clyde Sachtleben
Leota Tyner
John Yost*

Wayne Goettsche
Lawrence James*
Grace Riley Leinart*
Doris Morhart*
Robert Schalock
Charles Uerling, Jr.*

Gilbert Adrian*
Elinore Barber*
Gerald Holcomb*
Jerrold Kerr*

Helen Barrett*
Robert Gray*
O.J. McDougal*
Thomas Osborne
Carl Throckmorton*
Richard Tickler*

Virginia Belknap*
Candace Lambie*
Donald Lambie*
Arthur Langvardt*
Kenneth Morrison*
Richard Spelts*
LeRoy Thom*

Anne Batchelder*
Robert Daugherty*
Thomas Reeves*
Walter Scott, Jr.*
Willis Strauss*

Thomas Creigh, Jr.*
Marvin Fink*
B. Keith Heuermann
Silas Kessler*
Harry (Hal) Lainson*
Betty Menke*
Irene Moerer*
Harrold (Hal) Shiffler*
D. Lloyd Wilson*

*Denotes deceased