High school students receive full-tuition scholarship at Hastings College

Four high school students were named Hastings College Walter Scott Scholars recently during the College’s Bronco Scholars Day event. This full tuition scholarship is one of the most celebrated and competitive scholarships offered to students at Hastings College.

Students named Walter Scott Scholars include:

  • Joseph Campbell of Columbus High School in Columbus, Nebraska
  • Emma Downing of Rampart High School in Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Arich Fruehling of Elkhorn High School in Omaha, Nebraska
  • Avery McKennan of Fort Calhoun High School in Fort Calhoun, Nebraska

Broncos Scholars Day StickerThe namesake of the scholarship, Walter Scott Jr., is an Omaha, Nebraska-native who served as chairman of the Hastings College Board of Trustees from 1982 to 1997. The former CEO of Peter Kiewit Sons, Inc., Scott is one of the nation’s most generous philanthropists.

To compete at Bronco Scholars Day, students first had to qualify by earning a score of 26 or higher on the ACT or 1230 or higher on the SAT, maintain a 3.75 grade point average or higher and apply and be accepted to Hastings College. During the event, students interviewed with Hastings College faculty and staff and were assessed on both their academic and leadership potential.

Walter Scott Scholars had previously qualified for a significant Hastings College academic scholarship. The additional award covers the balance of tuition for those students.

Other Bronco Scholar Day participants also received an additional scholarship amount. These students are listed below, by state and hometown:


Alexis Floodeen of Eaglecrest High School

Wyatt Sears of Mead High

Hope Carmody of Chaparral High School

Courtney Manahan of Strasburg Junior-Senior High School

Kourtney Stewart of Horizon High School


Samantha Worthington of Perry (Kansas) High School


Ryan Hunter of Aurora High School

Beaver City
Savanah Ellis of Southern Valley Junior-Senior High School

Jaylen Turner of Bellevue East High School

Cassidy Coalson of Bridgeport High School

Carlee Archibeque of Burwell Junior-Senior High School
Hallee Mann of Burwell Junior-Senior High School

Central City
Koby Brandenburg of Central City High School

Grand Island
Sydney Holmes of Grand Island Northwest High School
Effeana Widdifield of Grand Island Northwest High School

Anna Cafferty of Hastings Senior High School
Evelyn Kryzsko of St. Cecilia High School
Tyler Ohrman of Sutton High School

Tristan Bade of Norris High School

Hailey Moore of Adams Central High School

La Vista
Max Griffel of Papillion-La Vista High School

Tessa Brazda of Lincoln Lutheran High School
Anastasia Krueger of Norris High School

Adrienne LaBay of McCook High School

North Loup
Hayden Grint of Ord Junior-Senior High School

Jacob Darling of Central High School
Janna Johnson of Westside High School
Theresa Trautman of Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart

Braden Kizer of Overton High School

Isabella Haave of Papillion-La Vista High School
Jaidan Hanshaw of Papillion-La Vista High School

Ashley Pedersen of Lutheran Northeast High School

Jackson Grote of Shickley Public High School

Kinser Rafert of Sutton High School

Colby Grossart of Central Valley High School

New Mexico

Los Alamos
Justin Martin of Los Alamos (New Mexico) High School

Hastings College is a private, four-year institution located in Hastings, Nebraska, that focuses on student academic and extracurricular achievement. Hastings College has been named among “Great Schools, Great Prices” by U.S. News & World Report and a “Best in the Midwest” by The Princeton Review. For more, go to hastings.edu.

Share this post