The Endowment

Endowed funds play a crucial role in the long-term sustainability and success of Hastings College. Charitable donations made to the endowment maintain their principal balance, which is held in perpetuity, with only a portion of the interest earned being expended annually.

If you have questions about endowed funds or would like to establish an endowed scholarship, contact the Hastings College Foundation at 402.461.7363 or

Hastings College Foundation maintains two types of endowed funds, Endowed Scholarships and Endowed Chairs and Professorships.

Endowed Scholarships

By establishing an endowed scholarship, you change the lives of students, many of whom could not afford to attend Hastings College without your support. Your gifts secure a source of financial aid in perpetuity while providing an opportunity for you to recognize a loved one, a favorite professor, or your own legacy at Hastings College through the naming of the scholarship.

Endowed Chairs and Professorships

Endowed funds enable Hastings College to recruit, retain, and recognize distinguished classroom teachers—the kinds of professors who inspire generations of undergraduates. Only eight of the College’s more than 80 full-time faculty positions are supported, in part, through named endowments. Opportunities exist for you to recognize master teachers in any academic area.

Current Endowed Chairs and Professorships include:

  • Distinguished Professorship in Music — Dr. Byron Jensen
  • Morton and Ella Steinhart Distinguished Professorship in Art — Open
  • Lawrence and Jeannette James Distinguished Professorship in Communication Arts, Business and Economics — Dr. Jessica Henry
  • Edgar and Frances Reynolds Distinguished Lectureship in Communications Arts, Business and Economics — Dr. Bruce Batterson
  • Dorothy Weyer Creigh Distinguished Professorship in History — Dr. Robert Babcock
  • Waldean C. McIntire Distinguished Professorship in Biological Sciences — Open
  • Elvena and Hattie Holling Distinguished Professorship in Math and Science — Dr. Bobbi Buchholz
  • Richard B. and Dorothy K. Tickler Distinguished Professorship in Science – Dr. Neil Heckman
  • Dr. Neil and Enola McDonald Distinguished Professorship in Political Science — Dr. Robert Amyot