Hastings College students, faculty, friends recognized at annual Honors Convocation

During Hastings College’s day-long Celebration of Excellence April 19, students, faculty and friends of the College were recognized for their achievements at Honors Convocation.

The Don and Nancy Seaton Faculty Achievement Award was given to Dr.Jean Heriot, Director of Service Learning & Associate Professor of Religion and Sociology, while Dr. Laura Logan, Assistant Professor of Sociology, received the Vondrak Outstanding Advisor Award.

Lisa Smith, Assistant Professor of Teacher Education, and Dr. Pedro Vizoso, Associate Professor of Languages and Literatures, were selected by a vote of the students to present the 2016-17 Artist Lecture Series Invited Faculty Lectures on the subject of their choice.

Members of Alpha Chi, the academic honorary, selected Hastings College President Don Jackson ‘70 as the Alpha Chi Outstanding Honorary Member.

Kim Dinsdale of Grand Island, Nebraska, received the President’s Award for outstanding and meritorious service to Hastings College.

Hastings College students receiving recognition as part of Honors Convocation are listed below. Recipients come from Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, South Dakota, West Virginia and Veracruz, Mexico.


Broken Bow

  • Kia Coleman – Wendell V. Showalter Biology Scholarship
  • Marcus Miller – Dr. Ralph Lamb Economics/Business Administration Scholarship


  • Jason Finnegan – Alpha Chi Outstanding First-Year Student
  • Jason Finnegan – Dr. Harry R. James Physics Scholarship
  • Aaron Pierce – The Stephen Lingwall Senior English Award

Grand Island

  • Jacilyn Bruns – Jim Kokesh Communication Scholarship
  • Jazmin Gonzalez-Vega – Gregory L. Plock M.D. Memorial Scholarship
  • Laura Gregory – Dwayne and Cindy Strasheim Scholarship
  • Andrew Koubek – The Outstanding Performer in Music
  • Kasey Lammers – Most Promising Art Student
  • Lauren Perkins – Nebraska Society of CPAs Foundation Scholarship


  • Trenton Boyer – Dr. Ralph Lamb Economics/Business Administration Scholarship –


  • Marcus Brown – William R. Welton Physics Scholarships
  • Matthew Brown – William R. Welton Physics Scholarships
  • Suzette Escamilla Morales – Alpha Chi Outstanding Sophomore Students
  • Suzette Escamilla Morales – Virginia Holyoke-McKeag Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Academics and Service
  • Chandler Fielder – Dr. Clement F. Bridenhagen History Scholarship
  • Josh Hinrichs – Don C. Aabel Accounting Scholarship
  • Joseph Prickett – Elmer B. Van Horn Memorial Scholarship


  • Allison Braun – Dr. Ralph Lamb Economics/Business Administration Scholarship


  • Tyler Lowry – William R. Welton Physics Scholarships
  • Melody O’Callaghan – Most Promising Art Student

La Vista

  • Alyx Olney – The Clara Altman Award for Foreign Languages


  • Katherine Arias – Outstanding Achievement in Art


  • Amanda Romero – Grant Koontz Merit Prize
  • Austin Rowlett – Principal Financial Group Scholarships
  • Susanna Zach – Louise C. Walter Memorial Award

Loup City

  • Megan Peterson – Outstanding Senior in Business and Economics


  • Geena Piper – Dr. Frederick H. Mattes Chemistry Achievement Award

North Platte

  • Alexa Hernandez – Dr. Ralph Lamb Economics/Business Administration Scholarship


  • Eunice Adounkpe – Pi Kappa Delta Speaker of the Year
  • Emilie Barnes – Dee R. Yost Scholar
  • Emilie Barnes – Dr. Art and Eunice Langvardt English Scholarship
  • Jordan Colony – Dr. Sara Jane Gardner Phi Alpha Theta Memorial Scholarship
  • Morgan Fisher – Student Education Association Outstanding Senior
  • Abra Misselt – Louise C. Walter Memorial Award
  • Jacob Peitzmeier – Duane Freeman Memorial Scholarship
  • Molly Sutter – The Outstanding Senior in Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Brian Whetstone – Drs. Philip and Kay K. Jordan Endowed History Scholarship


  • Lindsay Ruane – Dr. Harry R. James Physics Scholarship


  • Tim Rickett – Outstanding Achievement in Art

Wood River

  • Kelly Boshart – Saville-Heflebower Teacher Education Award
  • Christina Zarek – Arnold A. Alberts Outstanding Chemist Award




  • Miguel Mendoza – Principal Financial Group Scholarships
  • Miguel Mendoza – Lambda Pi Eta Outstanding New Communicator Award


  • Jessica Johnson – Schantz Science Achievement Scholarship


  • Molly Hoff – T-L Irrigation/LeRoy W. and Jean E. Thom Scholarship for Continuing Religious Education


  • Kailen Soncksen – Religion Book Award

Castle Rock

  • Laurel Teal – Reverend Joseph Kyle Memorial Scholarships
  • Laurel Teal – Tamara Babcock Endowed Scholarship
  • Collin Tedesco – Dr. Ralph Lamb Economics/Business Administration Scholarship


  • Anna Griggs – Alice and Jack Marvel Endowed Scholarship

Colorado Springs

  • Victoria Hervey – Denny Storer Political Science Scholarship
  • Kelly Kruse – Mabel Gray Newburn Communication Scholarship
  • Sarah Nelson – The Theodore Presser Award

Highlands Ranch

  • Garrett Delphia – Lambda Pi Eta Outstanding Communication Scholar
  • Brendan McGuire – The Reverend Kenneth and Alice Locke Family Scholarship
  • Brendan McGuire – Udlock-Wachob Memorial Christian Education Scholarship


  • Kaleena Odd – Dr. Lorrie E. Bryant Psi Chi Scholarship


  • Kenese Io – Philosophy Book Award


  • Brooke Appelhans – Omicron Delta Kappa Leader of the Year




  • Chris Gousios – Outstanding Student Association Senator




  • Andrew Boge – Alpha Chi Outstanding Sophomore Student
  • Andrew Boge – Pi Kappa Delta Speaker of the Year




  • Carly Spotts-Falzone – Alpha Chi Outstanding First-Year Student
  • Carly Spotts-Falzone – Kevin Heineman Outstanding First Year Student



Rapid City

  • Mollie Strain – Outstanding Student Association Executive Council Member
  • Mollie Strain – Chuck Eigenberg Outstanding Senior Award




  • Nicholas Musgrave – Reverend Joseph Kyle Memorial Scholarships
  • Nicholas Musgrave – Storer-Evans Lecture in Political Science




  • Juan Fernandez – Dr. Ralph Lamb Economics/Business Administration Scholarship

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email