Hastings College recognizes scholarship, service at Honors Convocation

As the 2012-13 academic year at Hastings College draws to a close, the community gathered for its annual Honors Convocation. Students, faculty and friends of the College alike were honored for their achievements throughout the year.

Robert Nedderman, Director of Libraries and Professor of Library Sciences, received the Distinguished Senior Faculty Award. He has served on the Hastings College faculty since 1990.

The J. Kent and Normalee Stadler Faculty Achievement  Award was given to Dr. Moses Dogbevia, Associate Professor of Chemistry, while Barb Sunderman, Associate Professor of Teacher, received the Vondrak Outstanding Advisor Award.

The Rev. Dr. William Nottage-Tacey, the Senior Pastor/Head of Staff at First Presbyterian Church in Hastings, Neb., received the President’s Award for outstanding and meritorious service to Hastings College. The 1972 Hastings College alumnus is an honorary member of the College’s Board of Trustees.

Dr. Jeri Thompson, Associate Professor of Psychology, and Dr. Rob Babcock, Professor of history, were selected by a vote of the students to present the 2013-14 Artist Lecture Series Invited Faculty Lectures on the subject of their choice.

The members of Alpha Chi, the academic honorary, selected Dr. Carter Aikin as the Alpha Chi Outstanding Honorary Member. Dr. Aikin serves as Director of the Center for Vocation, Faith & Service and Assistant Professor of Religion and Philosophy.

Students receiving recognition are listed below, separated by state and city.



Dr. Clement Bridenhagen Scholarship – Jacqueline Lemmer


Dorothy Reed Steen Armstrong Scholarship – Danielle Thyfault

Beaver City

Birchler/Rininger Scholarship – Logan Ellis


Most Promising Art Student – Lindsey Pfender


The Outstanding Senior in Mathematics and Computer Science – Emily Lovejoy


The Reverend Kenneth and Alice Locke Family Scholarship – Ryan Garder

Carroll G. Patterson Scholarship for the Outstanding Junior in Mathematics and Computer Science – Ryan Garder

Broken Bow

Einspahr Accounting Excellence Award – Todd Stithem


The Art and Eunice Langvardt Scholarship in English – Elizabeth Case


Dr. Denny Storer Political Science Award – Sierra Walker

Grand Island

Virginia Holyoke-McKeag Memorial Scholarship – Jennifer Zarek

Dr. Lorrie E. Bryant Psi Chi Scholarship – Emily Meyer


Alpha Chi Outstanding First-Year Students – Kelli Poplau

Dr. Harry R. James Physics Award – Brendon Bramman

Duane Freeman Scholarship – Jacob Hamburger

Frederick H. Mattes Chemistry Achievement Award – Kelli Poplau

The Stephen Lingwall Senior English Award – Laura Bonnett-Murphy

Outstanding Achievement in Art – Jeremy Hansen


The Reverend Joseph Kyle Memorial Scholarship – Trey Geisenhagen


Dr. Sara Jane Gardner Phi Alpha Theta Memorial Scholarship – Kaitlyn Karr


Dorothy Reed Steen Armstrong Scholarship – Jessica Bliven


Outstanding Student Association Executive Council Member – Ellie Clinch

Pi Kappa Delta Speaker of the Year – Trevor Brass

Outstanding Business Economics Senior – Jake Marvin

Udlock-Wachob Memorial Christian Education Scholarship – Adam Neely


The Clara Altman Award for Foreign Languages – Madeleine Michalek

Outstanding Senior Theatre Student – Elizabeth Wilkins

Evans-Storer Lecture in Political Science – Ethan Bennett

The Stephen Lingwall Senior English Award – Elizabeth Wilkins

Madgett Physics Scholarship – Conner Thomas

West Point

Kevin Heineman Outstanding First Year Student – Aaron Pierce

Wood River

Louise C. Walter Merit Award Scholarship – Hannah Luebs



Alpha Chi Outstanding Sophomores – Theresa Droege


Alice and Jack Marvel Endowed Scholarship – Jocelyn Delgado


Alpha Chi Outstanding Sophomore – Alex Eisele

Alpha Chi Outstanding First-Year Student – Ian Tyler Tuttle

Dr. Harry R. James Physics Award – Ian Tyler Tuttle

Fort Collins

Louise C. Walter Merit Award Scholarship – Tyler Mogilefsky

Fort Morgan

Dr. Harry R. James Physics Award – Justin Pflug

Highlands Ranch

Madgett Physics Scholarship – Michael O’Neal

Student Education Association Outstanding Senior – Dylann Barbee


Madgett Physics Scholarship – Ellie Meisinger

Madgett Physics Scholarship – Eric Anttila


The Wendell V. Showalter Scholarship in Biology – Zach Heard


Arnold A. Alberts Outstanding Chemist Award – Shelby Follett


Dr. Denny Storer Political Science Award – Riley Johnson


Dr. Sara Jane Gardner Memorial Scholarship in English/History – Emma Parrish

The Outstanding Senior in Music – Deann Duncan Nicolaus


Alpha Psi Omega Dr. Hal Shiffler Award – Tyler Donovan


Mabel Gray Newburn Communication Scholarship – Nicole Sherrill



Student Education Association Outstanding Senior – Malori Wright

New Mexico


Outstanding Student Association Senator – Grant Hunter

Founded in 1882, Hastings College is a private, four-year liberal arts institution located in Hastings, Nebraska, that focuses on student academic and extracurricular achievement. With 64 majors in 32 areas of study and 12 pre-professional programs, Hastings College has been named among “America’s Best National Liberal Arts Colleges” by U.S. News & World Report, a “Best in the Midwest” by The Princeton Review and a “Best Buy in College Education” by Barron’s. Visit Hastings.edu for more.

Share this post