Creigh Weyer Scholarship | Hastings College

Creigh Weyer Scholarship

Creigh Weyer Scholarship

The Creigh Weyer Scholarship program is a highly-competitive, merit-based scholarship that is offered to Hastings College juniors and seniors who have outstanding leadership potential.

Creigh Weyer Scholars are persons who have the initiative, integrity, intellect and leadership potential to become leaders at the highest levels. These scholars may pursue any field, including academia, the arts, business, entrepreneurship, government, the learned professions and the non-profit sector.

The scholarship offers:

  • Recognition of outstanding leadership potential,
  • Active mentoring, guidance and support from senior leaders in business, government and academia, and
  • Up to $40,000 in grants to support graduate study in the United States or overseas.

The program is highly selective and while we seek to award one scholarship each year, there are years when no qualifying candidate is identified.

Creigh Weyer Scholars are expected to attend one of the top graduate schools in their chosen field. Previous Creigh Weyer Scholars have been accepted by some of the finest graduate schools in the United States, including Columbia, Duke, Emory, Georgetown, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, MIT, NYU, Northwestern, Penn, Purdue, University of California, University of Michigan, University of Texas and Yale.

Recent scholarship recipients:

  • Ann Goding Sauer (’06) – American Cancer Society, Atlanta, GA.  Previously, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, GA.  MPH, Emory University Rollins School of Public Health
  • Keian Kirkegaard (‘07) – Raytheon Corporation, Denver, CO. MS, Purdue University
  • Dr. Jillian Heiden Fickenscher (‘08) – Family Physician, Nebraska Medical Center; Pisacano Scholar.  MD/MPH, University of Nebraska Medical Center.
  • Starlight Fonseca (‘09) – Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies, Omaha, NE.  JD, University of Texas School of Law.
  • Tyler Keyser (‘09) – Ropes & Gray LLP, Chicago, IL.  Previously, Fedcap Rehabilitation Services Inc., New York, NY.  JD, Harvard Law School.
  • Jessica Thompson Elmshaeuser (‘10) –Foreign Service Officer, United States Embassy, Barbados; previously Federal Bureau of Investigation, Washington, DC.   MS, George Washington University.
  • Ruth Swift (‘11) – Federal Public Defender’s Office, Birmingham, AL.  JD, Yale Law School.
  • April Christensen (‘12) – Invenergy LLC, Chicago IL.  MEM, Duke University.
  • Kevin Wright (‘13) – Jennings Policy Strategies, Washington DC.  MPH, Johns Hopkins University.
  • Emily Johnson (‘14) – MPP candidate, Duke University.  Previously Belle H. Bennett Hunger Fellow, Community Food Advocates, Nashville, TN.
  • Brooke Ballou (‘15) – Union Pacific Railroad, Omaha, NE. 
  • Christina Zarek ('16) - Ph.D candidate, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School.
  • Nick Musgrave ('17) - AB candidate, Hastings College

Selection Criteria

Creigh Weyer Scholars are selected on the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated leadership potential,
  • High probability of becoming a leader who will have a substantial impact on his or her community,
  • Highest ethical standards and integrity,
  • Outstanding communication skills, and
  • Outstanding academic record with likely acceptance by a first-rate graduate school.

Leadership potential may be demonstrated in a wide variety of ways, including: student government, campus activities, entrepreneurial activity, non-profit and public sector activities, employment, military service or training, internships, community service, religious service and athletics. As long as a candidate demonstrates leadership potential, the manner in which this potential is demonstrated is not important. There is no preference as to any particular field.

Creigh Weyer Scholars will generally be in the top 10 percent of their class. However, demonstrated leadership potential is more important than academic distinction. A mandatory personal interview is a critical aspect of the selection process.

For more information on the program or to receive an application, contact Dr. Liz Frombgen, associate academic dean, at